end-of-year-highlights

The end of year highlights

It’s almost a year to the day that I was sat on a train travelling from Doncaster to Peterborough that I decided to pull out my laptop, open up a Word document and start typing a stream of consciousness about my aspirations to become a sports lawyer. At the time I didn’t quite know where it would lead me but I knew it would at least be a welcome distraction to the sometimes drab world that is a law degree.

Since then we’ve seen allegations of systematic corruption, players quite literally taking chunks out of opponents, openly gay players in major sports, dubious owners, further allegations of systematic corruption, and questionable transfers involving children. If there were ever a time to start a blog it would probably be now.

I’d like to thank every single one of you who has taken the time out of their day to read what I have written. Having an audience is what makes things like this possible and I am proud to see how much this little blog has grown. I never would have thought that I’d attract a global readership. People from Malaysia, Serbia, Kenya, Switzerland, Australia, China, Egypt, South Africa, Belgium, Pakistan, Lebanon and many other countries have all visited and I’m proud that what I write can reach those places. I’d also like to thank everyone that has praised the blog over the past year. Hearing the kind words from those in the profession means an awful lot to me.

2015 will hopefully see the blog expand further by covering more sports. This year has seen a heavy emphasis on football but I’d love to write on other sports such as cricket, basketball, American football and rugby. In the meantime, thanks again for all your support this year. Have a happy Christmas or holiday season and see you in the New Year.

Leave a Reply

